Welcome to my new blog. My nickname is Sarks and my real name is secret—for now. I ordered an iced tea from Starbucks recently and the barista misheard and wrote “Serena” on my cup, which always happens (and, honestly, it doesn’t bother me). So “Not Serena” is the online alias I have chosen for my blog.

The story behind my blog is this: June was simultaneously awful and amazing. I bypassed a long summer wait and had my gallbladder laparoscopically removed (sixteen days ago and after a year and a half of misery). I had an almost breakup. I am in the running for jobs on the opposite side of the continent, and I was offered another contract at my last job. Things were/are hectic and monotonous, all at once. There are possibilities and maybes and I am (finally) almost well enough to tackle them if they come. My apologies for the vagueness.

I am also on a mission to try things that scare me. I know for sure I wouldn’t enjoy bungee jumping or sky diving, but I might enjoy dance classes and photoshoots and doing work I love in a new city. I want to be healthier. I want to make my relationship better. I want to be be more confident, creative, assertive, and so on. So, if you want to follow along, welcome to my blog. Share your stories and thoughts too.

Leave a Reply

